OWWA Announces 2020 EDSP Scholars

The Overseas Workers Welfare Administration has announced the names of 400 scholars who qualified under the Education for Development Scholarship Program for School Year 2020-2021.

The EDSP is OWWA’s competitive educational assistance program where eligible dependents of qualified OWWA members vie for a slot through an annual qualifying examination conducted by the Department of Science and Technology-Science Education Institute.

The 400 new scholars were the top performers among 4,006 examinees who took the test in October 2019 at various testing centers in the Philippines. Eligible examinees from the cities of Riyadh and Al Khobar in Saudi Arabia also took part in the qualifying examination.

Fifty-three scholars, including topnotcher Aijin Mozart Dumaual Gatchalian, came from the National Capital Region which led the country in number of qualifiers.

Summary of regions and number of qualifiers

  • National Capital Region 53
  • Cebu 40
  • Iloilo 25
  • Cavite 23
  • Batangas 15
  • Benguet 15
  • Pampanga 14
  • Lanao del Norte 14
  • Al Khobar in Saudi Arabia 14
  • Laguna 13
  • Bohol 11
  • Leyte 11
  • Riyadh 11
  • Pangasinan 10
  • Misamis Oriental 10

The EDSP is one of the regular programs of OWWA where the qualified dependent of the active member-OFW could take any four- or five-year course leading to a college degree. Each qualifier receives an allowance of P60,000 per school year, along with training and other learning enhancement programs.

Likewise, OWWA welcomes the new batch of scholars under the Congressional Migrant Workers Scholarship Program (CMWSP). The program follows the same qualifying guidelines and benefits as the EDSP. However, this program is open to both eligible OFWs and their dependents, and the CMWSP scholar may only take science and technology courses.

Related: What are the Privileges, Eligibility and Documentary Requirements for OWWA EDSP?

You might also like
error: Content is protected !!