List of 25 Countries Filipinos Are Not Allowed to Work

You can be an overseas Filipino worker but not in any of the 24 countries as identified by the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration.

In an advisory, POEA made the ban on deployment mainly due to safety and security conditions as well as economic situation in the countries identified.

Countries where deployment ban is imposed due to unstable security:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Somalia
  3. Sudan (except Khartoum and the Kenana Sugar Plantation in the White Nile)
  4. Rwanda
  5. Burundi
  6. Iraq
  7. Syria
  8. Yemen
  9. Chechnya

Countries where only OFWs with existing employment contract are allowed to return:

  1. South Sudan
  2. Libya
  3. Ukraine

Country with poor working condition and local economic situation

  1. Palau (specific ban for domestic workers)

Countries not certified by the Department of Foreign Affairs

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Chad
  3. Cuba
  4. North Korea
  5. Haiti
  6. Mali
  7. Mauritania
  8. Niger
  9. Palestine
  10. Somalia
  11. Zimbabwe
  12. South Sudan.