Young Filipino Math Wizards Overall Champs at Singapore Tilt

A young Filipino student earned perfect score — the only one among all contestants — on his way to gold medal, helping the Philippines win the overall crown in the inaugural Singapore International Mathematics Olympiad Challenge (SIMOC) held in Singapore from August 14-17.

Filbert Ephraim Wu, 9, of MGC New Life Christian Academy in Taguig, achieve the reputation as the only one among 426 participants from Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Uzbekistan and Vietnam to earn perfect score.

The Philippines reigned supreme with 14 gold, 20 silver and 29 bronze medals won.

According to Dr. Archieval Rodriguez, president of the Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines (MathDAP), delegates from the Philippines also received special awards and 11 honorable mentions.

List of Medalists from the Philippines

Gold Medal
Filbert Ephraim Wu – MGC New Life Christian Academy
Alfonso Miguel Abella – Grace Christian College
Adam Christopher Chan – Grace Christian College
Jan Joshua Cruz – Pasig Catholic College
Neo Angelo Gatlabayan – British School Manila
Matteo Tristan Sy – British School Manila
Jose Ignacio Locsin – Philippine Science High School-Main
Marie Emmanuelle Martinez – UP Integrated School
Seth Marchen Trompeta – Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
Filberth Joseph Ubanos – Elizabeth Seton School
Matthew Angelo Isidro – St. Jude Catholic School
Danela Kayla Maceda – St. Jude Catholic School
Westin Darren Maceda – St. Jude Catholic School
Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue – St. Jude Catholic School.

Silver Medal
Christopher Banzon – Makati Science High School
Miguel Cayetano – Tuguegarao West Central Elementary School
Sophia Monique Chan – Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Alessandro Gabriel Eduarte – St. Simon Montessori School
Shawn Pierce Go – Chiang Kai Shek College
Geosef Viktor Uy – Chiang Kai Shek College
John Aries Ceazar Hingan – San Beda College-Alabang
Jarius Carle Isaguirre – St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur
Maria Bernadette Landicho – Stonyhurst Southville International School
Francis Matthew Pascua – Kaj Play and Learn Center
Janssen Reign Peña – Mother Goose Special School System
Yuan Carlos Regencia – Special Education for the Gifted
Rikka Grace Sombiro – Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
Audrey Gabrielle Tan – Malayan High School of Science
Matthew Shawn Tansiongkun – Xavier School
Shana Camille Tiampong – Iloilo Scholastic Academy
Min Chan Jeong – Grace Christian College
Sean Marcus So – Grace Christian College
Sergei Matteo So – Grace Christian College
Luke Sebastian Sy – Grace Christian College

Bronze Medal
Theodore Abara – La Salle Greenhills
Jayson Dwight Catindig – Ateneo de Manila Junior High School
Riyen Bernice Ang – Chiang Kai Shek College
Jedrick Blest Lim – Chiang Kai Shek College
Prince Matthew Sy – Chiang Kai Shek College
Terence Brian Tsai – Chiang Kai Shek College
Kristin Angela Narag – Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
Paolo Miguel Torres – De La Salle-Lipa
Naomi Ashley Uy – De La Salle-Lipa
Alyssa Corinne Llantero – De La Salle University-STC
Lamberlain Muli – Dinalupihan Elementary School
Grant Aaron King – Grace Christian College
Gerrick Spencer Limsiy – Grace Christian College
Reysheil Anne Doromal – Hua Siong College of Iloilo
Lyonel Justin Ching – Jubilee Christian Academy
Phil Eldridge Sim – Jubilee Christian Academy
Patricia Ina Tañada – Makati Science High School
Ralde Anuel Bautista – MGC New Christian Life Academy
Francisco Angeles Jr. – Mother Goose Special School System
John Jeffrey Bo – Novaliches High School
Kenneth Shi – Philippine Cultural College-Caloocan
Rafael Jose Santiago – Philippine Science High School-Main
Justine John Serdoncillo – Philippine Science High School-Main
Makarios Joash Wee – Philippine Christian Gospel School
Kent Vincent Gale – Precious International School
Walsh Nico Adrian Letran – St. Jude Catholic School
John Ian Lenix Hingan – San Beda College-Alabang
Jose Miguel Palitog – San Beda College-Alabang
Hans Cedric Galande – Zamboanga Chong Hua High School

Honorable Mention
Paul Jeremiah Naraval – BHC Educational Institution
Elan Victoria Tomaneng – Butuan City SPED Center
Lorenz Gabriel Briones – De La Salle-Lipa
Kouji Tomas – De La Salle Santiago Zobel
Nathan Dominic Gondra – First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities
Paul Elvin Sim – Jubilee Christian Academy
Andre Craig Adan – Mother Goose Special School-Urdaneta
Guinevere Soria – Philippine Science Science High School-SMC
Hans Ethan Ting – Rainbow of Angel Learning Center
Lovina Mia Suguitan – UP Integrated School
Alexander Bernard Go – Xavier School