Markel-Power International: Beware of non-existent jobs abroad

Got a job offer that’s too good to be true? Think again, that could be far from the truth.

A scam directed to job seekers looking for vacancies in a purported German company was unveiled by the Philippine embassy in Berlin.


In a report to the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), the embassy said the two Filipinas contacted the diplomatic post to verify the background of Markel-Power International, allegedly located in Bremen, Germany, which informed them through e-mail that they would be hired by the firm. The company advised applicants to complete the recruitment by paying 70 Euros to an employment company based in Monza, Italy.

After simple verification, it was found out that Markel-Power International is non-existent, not registered with the Bremen Chamber of Commerce and Industry, has a fictitious address, no telephone and fax numbers, and is using a host in the United States for its English website.

“The embassy is convinced that this recruitment scheme is another variation of the Nigerian 4-1-9 advanced fee scam designed to victimize innocent Filipino job seekers,” Chargé d’Affaires Christine Queenie Mangunay said.

The Nigerian 4-1-9 scam, also known as the Nigerian Advance Fee scheme, is a worldwide scam that involves the receipt of an unsolicited letter allegedly from a Nigerian Central Bank employee or from the Nigerian government.

It is named after the section of the Nigerian penal code which addresses fraudulent schemes.

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27119457@N07/

Subscribe to Comments RSS Feed in this post

3 Responses

  1. The same happen to my friend just this day. They asking her to pay 70 Euros to western union..

    There are using new company now to scam people..

    Beware of the following…

    company:

    Marge Power International
    <a href="http://www.marge-int.com” target=”_blank”>www.marge-int.com
    Krabiester 731D bldg4 47328 Essen Germany

    and the recruiter:

    Camila Personnel Resources Inc.
    <a href="http://www.camilapr.com” target=”_blank”>www.camilapr.com
    Str Pestera Dambovicioarei nr 317, Bucharest, Romania

    C/O Marvin Carl

  2. yeah you are right Daniel the same thing happened to me this company Merge power international is a fake Company !!

    • it happend with me too
      they create both of two sites in 28 september in the same hour with the same webhosting site
      they are very profissional in HR documentations & communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*